Have You Discovered Your Gift?

Hello all,

In the morning, on the way to work, I try to tune in to the Steve Harvey Morning Show on KBLX (Cali folks will know the station).  Truthfully, my purpose is to try to catch Nephew Tommy’s Prank Call, but I am not in my car early enough to actually hear it!  So, instead, I am usually able to hear other parts of the show.

This morning, however, I caught a segment in which they had Lisa Nichols, a motivational speaker, available to answer questions from callers regarding their life goals and and personal issues that keep them from doing the things they want to do in life.  I have never heard of Lisa Nichols, but apparently, she is doing BIG THINGS traveling internationally to motivate people seeking help with bringing their dreams to reality.  During this segment, one of the big things that came up was this question: Have you discovered YOUR gift?  Is the “thing” you are working on the thing that you are gifted at?  The caller answered with a big sigh of disappointment, “no.”  Steve Harvey went on to say that you need to identify that thing at which you are gifted at and roll with that.  This for me was something that hit me big time.  I mean, I am in my 30’s and I have yet to determine what my gift is.

Growing up, there have always been things that I have been gifted at doing but none of those things became things in which I would eventually make a living from.  So, how does one determine what their gift or gift(s) is(are)?  I don’t know!!  According to Steve Harvey, you can purchase his new book and it will layout exactly what you need to do to be able to figure this out.  I will not be buying his book just yet!  There are so many other books that I can pick up at my local library first!  LOL…Until then, I feel that a good way to begin my soul searching is to simply try different things.  When we were children, the only way to figure out the things we like and didn’t like was to TRY IT.  We tried sports, we tried music lessons, we tried Math, Science and English because they were a mandatory part of our life.  I believe that now is the time for me to continue trying things and am looking forward to embracing new opportunities and to actually seeking out new opportunities.  This will be hard for me as a new mother who works full-time, but I must try.

So, I’m asking all of you who might read this post, how did you discover your gift?  Was it on purpose or on accident?  Are you making a living with your gift today or working on it?  Please share!

I’ll end this post with this quote:

The meaning of life is to find your gift.  The purpose of life is to give it away – Pablo Picasso

 

Until Next Time,

Nikki

 

One thought on “Have You Discovered Your Gift?

  1. Very profound.

    From my own experience, I’ve discovered that the things I naturally excel at doing are my “gifts”.
    I am not sure if it was on purpose or by accident, perhaps on purpose, because I deliberately improved my grasp of my gifts.

Leave a Reply

